Managing Devices

From the Devices page, you can view your inventory, assign a device to a group, rescan, reboot, export details, and remove a device.

The following topics are described here:

Viewing Device Inventory

The following information is available from the Devices page:

Table Column

Description

OS

This is the OS type of the device, either macOS, Windows, or Linux, which is depicted with an icon.

Device Name

This is the name that the device either assigns by default, or the name the user assigned to the individual device. Hover over the name of the device and click to open the detail view. See also Device Details.

Last Disconnected

The date and time that a device last disconnected from the platform.

NOTE: Sort using this column, with the oldest at the top, to identify decommissioned devices. You can then remove the devices from the console.

Group Membership

The associated group membership is displayed here. See also Managing Groups.

Tags

Tags are optional. They can be used to improve your search experience.

IP Address

IP address assigned to the device. Hover over an entry to show all associated addresses.

OS Version

OS version currently installed on the device.

Scheduled Patches

This shows if there are any scheduled patches for this device based on the patch policies.

Total Patches

This shows the total number of patches available for this device.

Status

This column shows details about any status associated with a device. For example, it can show the last time a patch was processed, if the device is up-to-date, if a patch is pending, and if the device has been marked with an exception.

Assigning a Device to a Group

To assign a device or multiple devices to a group, follow these steps: (See also Managing Groups).

  1. From the Devices page, click the checkbox for the device(s) you want to assign to a group.

  2. Click Assign to Group. The Assign to Group dialog window opens.

  3. From the Select Group drop-down list, choose the desired group.

  4. Click Assign Devices to Group.

Rescanning a Device

To rescan a device, follow these steps:

  1. From the Devices page, click the checkbox for the device(s) you want to rescan.

  2. Click the Scan link to rescan the device The request is sent and Automox retrieves the latest status of the device.

Rebooting a Device

To reboot a device, follow these steps:

  1. From the Devices page, click the checkbox for the device(s) you want to reboot.

  2. Click the Reboot link.

  3. When the confirmation dialog window opens, click Reboot Device(s).

The request is sent and the devices are immediately rebooted. This bypasses any user notifications.

Exporting Device Inventory

You can export data contained in the Device inventory for one or all devices. To export inventory data, follow these steps:

  1. From the Devices page, click the checkbox for the device(s) you want export data for.

  2. Click the Export link. A CSV file is automatically downloaded to your computer.

Removing a Device

In order to remove a device from your Automox inventory, follow these steps. After removing a device, it is no longer managed by Automox. A removed device can be re-added by reinstalling the agent on that device.

  1. From the Devices page, click the check box for the device(s) you want to remove.

  2. Click the Remove Device link.

  3. Confirm the device removal in the Remove Devices dialog box.

Remove Devices dialog box